Book Nook

Mar. 20th, 2011 01:35 pm
cathepsut: (book hand)
[personal profile] cathepsut
River Marked (Mercedes Thompson #6)River Marked by Patricia Briggs

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What do you call Urban Fantsay without an urban setting? Is it just Fantasy? Because in this one Mercy and Adam are running around in the wilderness and get wet a lot in rivers.

Good suspense, straight forward story, lots of action. It wasn't breathtaking, but a good, solid read. Interesting detour into Native American Folklore.

Sending this one out to a BC friend.

Book Nook

Jan. 28th, 2011 01:45 am
cathepsut: (book hand)
[personal profile] cathepsut
On the ProwlOn the Prowl by Patricia Briggs
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Finally caved in and got the precursor to the Alpha & Omega novels. My excuse is that I wanted to try out my new eReader. And as expected I really liked the first story, although I already roughly knew what to expect from the story. I guess that is the nice thing about book series. You make friends and it's familiar and nice to meet them again.

The second story by Eileen Wilks was pretty good as well. Interesting idea of the borders between realms breaking down and talents emerging. The heroine should appeal to fans of Patricia Briggs or Carrie Vaughn. There were some odd changes in tenses a few times, throwing me off. But the plot and characters made up for it.

I read two books in the Cassie Palmer series by Karen Chance, so the world in the third story was not new to me. The story was ok, but did not really captivate me. Until the ending, that was unexpected and fun. But all in all the story lacked a red thread. The ending didn't feel as if it belonged.

Story number four was supposed to be great for fans of Laurell K Hamilton, if the blurb is to be trusted. But believe me, Anita Blake this was not. Neither early nor late Anita. The style felt antiquated and stuffy, the sex was lacklustre, it felt like a summary of another book and you were fiercly hit over the head with an ad for the next book in the series. I skimmed this very quickly.

So, #1 was nice and comfortable, #2 might be a potential new author for me. #3 was ok, but nothing great. #4 did nothing for me.

(PS: Read as a .pdf on the Sony Reader Touch)

***

In other new my WLAN router arrived today! Took me about an hour to set it all up. The stick was plug and play, very simple. For the box I followed the instructions on the CD and ended up with the router plugged in between the modem and the PC. Some head scratching followed and some swearing at the screen, then I unplugged the whole thing and connected the router to my modem and it worked 5 minutes later. I happily pulled that nasty network cable from above the footboard and around my kitchen door. Much better! I need to buy something to plug up all the holes the nails left behind.

My iPhone is insanely fast connected to the net by WiFi and I could finally register my Kindle. Downloaded a book preview from the Kindle store and it was pretty much instant delivery. I'm a happy camper! I really like the Kindle. But I'm pretty sure I will keep the Sony as well. The glare is a bitch, but I realised that .pdf-files display much better on the Sony. Plus I found some sites were books are cheaper than on Amazon.
cathepsut: (flaming june)
[personal profile] cathepsut
Masques (Sianim, #1) (Aralorn, #1)Masques (Sianim, #1) by Patricia Briggs

My rating: 1 of 5 stars


I love Patricia Briggs, her Mercy Thompson books are great fun. But this just didn't do it for me. She would probably have been better served to leave it as it was and never re-publish it or do a complete re-write. I finally tossed it last night after struggling through the first 70 pages and hoping it would eventually grab me. But no, it did not happen. It felt a little like bad fanfiction.

Profile

Bookcrossing - live to share, share to live

January 2017

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags